About Us

Mission & Values

Our mission is to transform the treatment paradigm for patients with inherited disorders by developing durable, broadly applicable, life-altering therapies grounded in innovative and rigorous science. By advancing a new category of genetic medicine, at SalioGen, we aspire to treat all inherited disorders, rare or common. At SalioGen, we bring together multidisciplinary group of scientists, drug developers, business leaders and key opinion leaders both from academia and the biotech industry with the breadth and depth of experience needed to bring new, innovative and transformative therapies to patients in need.


Jason F. Cole

Jason F. Cole

CEO & Chairman of the Board

Joseph J. Higgins, M.D.

Chief Innovation Officer
Board Member

Joe Senn, Ph.D.

Joe Senn, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President,
Head of R&D

Jeff Kopacz

Jeff Kopacz, M.S., J.D.

Senior Vice President of
Intellectual Property & Contracts

Sandeep Nema

Sandeep Nema, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President of
Technical Operations

Jill Murray

Jill Murray

Vice President,
Human Resources

Will McGown

Executive Director,
Finance & FP&A

Kate Lewis

VP, Portfolio and
Program Management

Extended Leadership

Nancy Craig

Nancy L. Craig, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President of
Genetic Engineering and Mobile Elements, Chair, Scientific Advisory Board

Jonathan Lu

Jonathan Lu

Sr. Director, Translational Medicine & Early Development

Subhrangshu (Subhro) Guhathakurta Ph.D.

Sr. Director, Platform Development & Genetic Engineering

Michelle LeBlanc

Director, In-Vivo Biology

Oleg Iartchouk

VP, Genomics & Biomarkers

Jungyeon Hwang

Jungyeon Hwang

Sr. Director, Drug Delivery

Rob Lyng

Rob Lyng

Executive Director, Process Development & Analytical Science

Pat Sacco

Pat Sacco

Senior Vice President of Manufacturing, Quality, and Operations

Eric Jacquinet

Eric Jacquinet

VP, Non-Clinical

Board of Directors

Jason Cole

CEO & Chairman, Board of Directors

Joseph J. Higgins, M.D.

President & Chief Innovation Officer | Board member

Sukumar Nagendran, M.D.

Board Member

Sean Stalfort

Board Member

Scientific Advisory Board

Nancy L. Craig, Ph.D. | Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Chair, Scientific Advisory Board

Beverly Davidson, Ph.D. | Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Ellis J. Neufeld, M.D., Ph.D. | St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Jesse B. Owens, Ph.D. | University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine

Matthew H. Wilson, M.D., Ph.D. | Vanderbilt University Medical Center

D. Holmes Morton, M.D. | Recipient of the Albert Schweitzer Prize for Humanitarianism and Founding Pediatrician, Clinic for Special Children and Central Pennsylvania Clinic

Executive Advisory Board

Mathai Mammen, M.D., Ph.D. | Founder, Theravance; formerly EVP of Pharmaceuticals, R&D at Johnson & Johnson; formerly SVP, R&D at Merck

John Maraganore, Ph.D. | Founding Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and director of Alnylam Pharmaceuticals

Mark McClellan, M.D., Ph.D. | The Robert J. Margolis Professor of Business, Medicine, and Policy, and founding Director of the Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy at Duke University, former commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and former administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)


Brian Hew, Ph.D. | University of Hawaii

Andrew Knudten, M.S., MBA | Jaguar Gene Therapy

Mark E. Pennesi, M.D., Ph.D. | Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health & Science University

Renee Ryals, Ph.D. | Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health & Science University

Gaurav Sahay, Ph.D. | Oregon State University

Troy Short | Jaguar Gene Therapy

Wayne Tschetter, Ph.D. | Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health & Science University

Matthew Wilson, M.D., Ph.D. | Vanderbilt University

Jonathan Yen, Ph.D. | St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital


Frederick Dyda, Ph.D.

Jaguar Gene Therapy

Alison B. Hickman, Ph.D.

National Institutes of Health


General Inception
Superstring Capital
Yonjin Venture
SSI Accelerator